When two agree…

Again I say unto you, that if two of you shall agree on earth as touching any thing that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of my Father which is in heaven. Mat 18: 19

I have been thinking about the above verse of scripture a lot of late and I wonder if it means what we think it means. The Word of Faith adherents love this verse of scripture and use it as a basis for their “confession brings possession” doctrine. From what I have been taught, I gather that this scripture says that if I want anything from God, I only have to look for another believer to say amen to my prayers and God is obligated to perform my request.

Does this actually work? I think not! After pondering on it for a while something struck me. I do not think that Jesus meant me getting another believer to say amen to my prayers but I think He was referring to another witness. Let me explain; if for instance I believe God has laid something in my heart, the only way to be doubly sure that it is from God is if another believer bears witness to it. And if a third can confirm, even better! In other words the agreement between the two persons is simply one confirming what has been laid in the heart of the other. So if 2 people are in agreement with regards a particular revelation, it has been established by God.

The way the Word of Faith adherents say it seems to suggest that you can get anything you want from God by just praying with another believer. This so-called agreement moves God into action. If this was the case, Christians will be the richest people and the only people on earth. Well that is yet to happen.

These are just my thoughts though and I would really welcome comments, most especially the ones backed up with scriptures.

Leave a Reply

