What is the biblical tithe?

Am still at a loss as to why today’s churches still promotes such a false doctrine and call it the tithe? I keep going through scriptures and other writes ups to search out more on the subject just in case I missed something but instead, I keep discovering how today’s attempt at tithing is unscriptural, sinful and completely ridiculous.

How we arrived at the tithe being 10% of cash is completely beyond me! I read a blog which showed scriptural evidence that money was never to be tithed. And ironically, I have read through that scripture so many times but never ever saw it in that light till I read it on that blog. (Here is the link –  http://tithedeception.blogspot.com/2007/02/penalty-for-not-tithing-leviticus-2731.html). 

I took the liberty of reading the verse of scripture the blog owner Pastor Amós Ortiz so graciously provided from the New Living Translation of the Holy scriptures;

30 “One tenth of the produce of the land, whether grain from the fields or fruit from the trees, belongs to the Lord and must be set apart to him as holy. 31 If you want to buy back the Lord’s tenth of the grain or fruit, you must pay its value, plus 20 percent. 32 Count off every tenth animal from your herds and flocks and set them apart for the Lord as holy. 33 You may not pick and choose between good and bad animals, and you may not substitute one for another. But if you do exchange one animal for another, then both the original animal and its substitute will be considered holy and cannot be bought back.” 34 These are the commands that the Lord gave through Moses on Mount Sinai for the Israelites. Leviticus 27

It is clearly stated there that the tithe was a tenth of the produce of the land and not 10% of money or anything else. Just as Pastor Ortiz rightly pointed out if money was to be tithed, how can you redeem money with money? How can you buy back money with money?

That you want to “fund” the gospel does not excuse deception in any shape or form. Those that promote the tithe as relevant to today’s church are most definitely speaking outside of the bible and promoting their own interests and not that of God. What other scriptural evidence do they require in order to accept that they are preaching a pseudo gospel? A closer look at Lev 27: 34 sums it up quite neatly; the “biblical” tithe of a tenth of food produce was for the Israelites ALONE! The word should not even feature in our vocabulary today!

If you want to fund your church, why not draw up a budget, announce it to the congregation and encourage them to give what they can towards it. That is more honourable than fashioning out a false doctrine in order to guarantee a steady revenue stream.

These two things mark the tithe doctrine of today: extortion and deception! What do they mean? The free online dictionary defines them as;

Extortion: to obtain from another by coercion or intimidation. 

Deception: To mislead.

Isn’t it extortion to say one would be under a curse if one does not part with 10% of one’s income? Isn’t it deception to say it is a command from the lord when we cannot find this command anywhere in scripture? Sigh!

People wake up from this yoke of oppression and walk in your Christ given liberty!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Oklahoma Olson
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 14:52:24

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I just wanted you to know that I appreciate anyone’s input and everyone is allowed to speak freely on my blog. I also wanted you to know that I believe everyone has a different way to tithe and I strongly believe in tithing. For me it looks like 10% of every paycheck, for others it is different and for some..it’s not money at all.

    I truly hope there are people out there that you are leading to the Lord. And I hope that God is blessing your blog with His divine will and guidance.

    I hope you have an awesome rest of the week.
    -Olson Blogger.

    Reply

  2. Oklahoma Olson
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 20:15:50

    Ok. I got your other comment. I am going to leave it at this.

    You blog about doctrine and finance. You seem like a well-educated individual who is out to correct the christian world of their roles in tradition and lead them back to what God intended.

    You go !

    I on the other hand, am a newlywed in my early 20’s that blogs about baking, crafts, favorite movies, my 12 nieces and nephews and what God is doing in my life.

    I appreciate your warning to not tithe to get something out it. Great warning and I my husband and I strive very hard to make sure that we letting the Holy Spirit guide us, not our wallets or need for a new house or whatever.

    To be honest, for a little bit I felt attacked just because we are 2 completely different bloggers and you kind of came out of no where and it was hard to keep up with your deep discussion on 10% and all that jazz.

    So, I wish you awesome blessings for your blog and that you reach people for the Kingdom of God. Thank you for stopping by and for giving your advice.

    -Olson Blogger.

    Reply

    • eliteinchrist
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 15:21:43

      Oh dear! Am so sorry Mrs Olson. I read your comment on my blog after I had put up my previous comment.

      It was never my intention to attack you. In my experience I have seen this doctrine make mince meat of people and utterly destroy their finances because they have been told not tithing is a sin. I only wanted you to look at the doctrine very well before you took the plunge. Am sorry if I offended you.

      Reply

      • Oklahoma Olson
        Apr 22, 2010 @ 16:01:01

        Looks like we left our comments at the same time. Thank you for understanding.

        I didnt want us to go around and around about this. I do like what you said, to not tithe is not sinning. I just think tithing is a great expression of faith in God. Esepcially for someone like me that never thought I would be able to give my money to God. Well..hello it’s His. God has done some awesome things for my husband and I. And we feel like it has happened because God is awesome and He was happy with our obedience to Him.

        Many Blessings to you and I think this was a great learning experience for me. After all, I have never received more comments about anything on my blog ! I need to open my eyes to the fact that other people will have different views than me. Imagine that.

        ~Mrs. Olson

  3. eliteinchrist
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 16:55:37

    Glad that I have been forgiven. And o yes once you have a blog, brace yourself for occurrences like these. Not everyone would agree with what you have written and the only way to avoid it is to bar people from leaving comments but what’s the fun in that? Some comments are quite helpful others might not be. That’s life.

    Anyways God bless and feel free to stop by anytime.

    Reply

  4. Harry Sasnowitz
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 22:51:29

    Great post. There are so many angles that one can use to biblically disprove the tithe as a mandate for the church. Yet the deception continues. As you eluded to, it’s all about the money. Keep sharing the truth, my friend. May God’s people be free to give as He directs.

    Reply

    • eliteinchrist
      Apr 27, 2010 @ 10:20:27

      Thanks for stopping by Harry. The level of ignorance a lot of today’s believers exhibit really does leave one gobsmacked. Most claim that the bible says little about the tithe in the New Testament and therefore is not enough for us to go by but that is so untrue. Anyways, may the good Lord continue to keep his church, amen.

      Reply

  5. ainouno
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 15:08:13

    Great blog my friend. Keep it up. May God bless you

    Reply

  6. Tony Isaac
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 09:23:21

    Thanks my friend and may God bless you too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

